ISO 45001: Occupational Health & Safety Certification

Safe and Healthy Workplaces Thanks to ISO 45001 Certification

Modern occupational health and safety goes far beyond primary accident prevention. With an occupational health and safety management system (OHSMS), all risks that can result in work-related injuries or occupational disability are taken into account.

In order to minimize operational risks for employees, the new international standard ISO 45001:2018 formulates requirements for comprehensive, modern occupational health and safety.
Our experts can certify your occupational health and safety management system according to ISO 45001 and consider all aspects of occupational safety - both those related to operational processes as well as those arising from work-related stress that can trigger mental illness.
With many years of experience and extensive know-how, we are your ideal partner. In addition to OHSMS certification according to ISO 45001, we also offer appropriate certification for the conversion from OHSAS 18001 to the new OHS management standard.

The first international standard for modern occupational health and safety - ISO 45001

The ISO 45001 standard, which has been in force since March 2018, is the only international and independent standard that defines requirements for operational health and safety management systems.
The standard focuses on preventing unsafe behaviors that can lead to accidents at work. It also focuses on reducing accidental downtime in the supply chain and in supplier management. Another important aspect of ISO 45001 is the inclusion of standardized health and safety requirements for managers, employees, and service providers taking into account their respective working environments and conditions.
ISO 45001:2018 replaces the previous widely-used standard OHSAS 18001. The new standard is structured similarly to the international standards ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 and can therefore be implemented easily in operational practice as part of an integrated management system.

ISO 45001 Certification Process

  1. Information and pre-audit (optional)
    Informational meeting (by phone or in person), project meeting on site, and preparate for certification, including document review
  2. On-site certification
    Readiness assessment with analysis and review of the management system description and review of documented processes
  3. Audit report and review
    Documentation of the audit and management system findings
  4. Certificate and seal issuance
    After successfully completing the certification process, you receive your certificate and the DEKRA Seal (valid for up to three years)
  5. First surveillance audit
    At least every 12 months after certification, a surveillance audit of the implementation of corrective actions takes place
  6. Second surveillance audit
    Repeated auditing of the implementation of the management system
  7. Recertification
    Three years after the initial certification, steps 2 through 6 are repeated in the recertification audit

Advantages of ISO 45001 certification

Safe and healthy workplaces are key to successful companies. Thanks to ISO 45001, a complete management requirement specification is available to ensure improvements in the health and safety of your employees. As a certified company, your customers, suppliers, and the labor market can be certain that you reliably manage the risks and opportunities related to occupational health and safety.
If you are already certified to OHSAS 18001, you can gradually close the gaps and differences in your ASM system and convert to the new standard. The new standard can be used in all types of organizations.

Certified occupational health and safety management systems with experienced auditors

As an impartial certification body, we have many years of experience in all sectors, which is why we are the ideal partner to certify your occupational health and safety management system in accordance with the ISO 45001 standard. Our auditors are available across the country and the globe, facilitating on-site inspection of your OHSMS. With our globally recognized DEKRA Seal, you also significantly improve your competitive advantage and build trust with your customers.
Our experts are eager to share their knowledge about the ISO 45001 certification process.
Did you know DEKRA can perform remote audits?
DEKRA offers remote audit solutions that increase flexibility, while decreasing setup time and travel costs. Remote audits include the same processes as on-site audits, but use secure technology to conduct interviews and tours, review documents, and inspect systems remotely. An audit may be fully remote or utilize a blended approach, depending on your needs and capabilities. Our remote audits meet ISO 19011:2018 and IAF MD 4:2018 standards for security and are accepted by ANAB.
Have questions? Contact us

1945 1945 The Exchange SE

Suite 300

Atlanta GA 30339

Management system certification is offered by DEKRA Certification, Inc., which operates independently from any consulting and training activities using the DEKRA brand.