Joint Award Ceremony Held by DVR, EVU and DEKRA

Fredrich Claezon Awarded European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award

Nov 07, 2017

Fredrich Claezon has been awarded the European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award. The 39-year-old SCANIA engineer has been honored at the DEKRA Commercial Vehicle Outlook Conference Berlin for his valuable contributions to enhancing the safety of commercial vehicles.

Fredrich Claezon receives the honor for his outstanding engineering services in the field of electronics, which have helped to significantly enhance the active and passive safety of commercial vehicles on the roads,” said Professor Egon-Christian von Glasner, honorary member of the Presidential Council of the European Association for Accident Research and Analysis (EVU), in his congratulatory speech.
This year, for the 28th time, the award for outstanding technical innovations or overall contributions is being presented by the EVU, the German Road Safety Council (DVR) and DEKRA to individuals who have played a special role in enhancing the safety of commercial vehicles.
Fredrich Claezon was born in 1977 and studied computer sciences at Linköping University in Sweden, graduating with a Master of Science in 2006.
He started his career in the same year as an integration engineer at General Motors/Saab Automobile in Trollhättan, where he was responsible for the driving simulator. This role also included the preliminary development of functions for various intelligent advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) such as fatigue and inattention detectors and simulation-based research into human–machine interfaces (HMI).
In 2008, Fredrich Claezon moved to SCANIA in Södertälje as a development engineer for safety systems, where he was also responsible for all airbag systems for heavy-duty commercial vehicles. In addition to this, he took on a preliminary development project for systems designed to detect pedestrians and cyclists.
In 2011, he was appointed senior engineer and was responsible for developing the rollover airbag control system for commercial vehicle cabins and for introducing as a standard feature the MobilEye-based camera system, which is used for the active lane-keeping assistant and emergency braking system and for which he defined the underlying principles and developed the associated software.
Many of the ADAS developed by Fredrich Claezon are already in series production. He is currently focused on autonomous driving for heavy-duty commercial vehicles.
Clemens Klinke, member of the Management Board of DEKRA SE and responsible for the Automotive business unit, said: “In the commercial vehicle sector in particular, enormous progress has been made in recent decades with regard to road safety, as the accident statistics impressively demonstrate. Thanks to his endeavors, Fredrich Claezon has played a key role in ensuring that this positive development can continue into the future. The European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award is our acknowledgment of his contribution.”
DVR Managing Director Christian Kellner praised Fredrich Claezon’s achievements: “Together with its members, the DVR works tirelessly to further reduce the number of accidents and their consequences. In doing so, we are guided by the safety strategy “VISION ZERO.” The introduction of active and passive safety systems has already helped to significantly reduce the number of accidents and will continue to play a key role in improving safety on our roads in the future.”
The award winners:
  • 1990 Prof. Dr. Pal Strifler (Daimler), Hungary
  • 1991 Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Marx (Bremen University), Germany
  • 1992 Prof. Ernst Göhring (Daimler), Germany
  • 1993 Prof. Dr. Klaus Langwieder (European Insurances Association), Germany
  • 1994 Prof. Dr. Egon-Christian von Glasner (Daimler), Germany
  • 1995 Prof. Dr. Gyula Köfalvi (Universität Györ), Hungary
  • 1996 Siegfried Werber (DVR), Germany
  • 1997 Prof. Dr. Pál Michelberger (Budapest University, President of FISITA), Hungary
  • 1998 Eric Thoms (Scania), Sweden
  • 1999 Toru Kajiyama (Isuzu), Japan
  • 2000 Richard Hildebrandt (Allied Signal), USA
  • 2001 Paul Oppenheimer MBE (Lucas-Girling), UK
  • 2002 Prof. Dr. Jovan Todorovic (Universität Belgrad), Yugoslavia
  • 2003 Bernard Tripier (Bosch), France
  • 2004 Prof. Dr. Sigmar Micke (Bosch), USA
  • 2005 Friedrich-Wilhelm Matzner (Bendiberica), Spain
  • 2006 Dr. Fujio Momiyama (Hino), Japan
  • 2007 Dr. Jürgen Trost (Daimler), Germany
  • 2008 Lennart Svenson (Volvo), Sweden
  • 2009 Prof. Dr. László Palkovics (Knorr), Hungary
  • 2010 Prof. Dr. Hartmut Marwitz (Daimler), Germany
  • 2011 Hidehiko Enomoto (Hino), Japan
  • 2012 Eberhard Hipp (MAN), Germany
  • 2013 Christian Börner (BG Fahrzeuge), Germany
  • 2014 Dr. Erwin Petersen (WABCO), Germany
  • 2015 Prof. Dr. Jörg Zürn (Daimler), Germany
  • 2016 Dr. Christian Wiehen (WABCO), Germany
  • 2017 Fredrich Claezon (Scania), Sweden