Your browser is outdated

The internet explorer is no longer supported. Please switch browsers for better website experience.

DEKRA Award 2016 – Safety Champions Wanted

Digital Transformation Requires New Safety Concepts

29. Apr 2016


  • Applications now open
  • Three categories: safety in transport, at work and in the home
  • Patron is Federal Minister of the Economy Sigmar Gabriel

The international expert organization DEKRA will present the DEKRA Award. This year as well, DEKRA will recognize safety champions in three categories – safety in transport, safety at work and safety in the home – together with WirtschaftsWoche, Germany’s leading economics magazine. Companies and initiatives can apply now until September 16, 2016. More information and application forms can be found at

“The digital transformation of the economy and society is well underway,” said Stefan Kölbl, Chairman of the Management Board of DEKRA e.V. and DEKRA SE. “This transformation also requires new concepts to ensure that machinery and products do not result in any hazards. As the global partner for a safe world, we are seeking outstanding ideas, initiatives and processes that help prevent accidents and make the world a safer place.”

The Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy will take on the patronage of the DEKRA Award for 2016. Federal Minister of the Economy Sigmar Gabriel highlighted the following in his greeting remarks: “DEKRA lays important foundations for the innovations that our economy urgently needs due to widespread digitalization. Under the heading of ‘Industry 4.0,’ virtually all key players are working together to shape the German economy in a future-proof way. The Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy supports the economy’s efforts. I would like to thank DEKRA for contributing to the development of a modern economy.”

For the DEKRA Award, a panel of internal and external experts will identify best practice projects across the country that make a sustainable contribution to improving safety among all the applications based on an established list of criteria. They are not looking for products but overall concepts. The criteria for nomination focus on effectiveness, simplicity, efficiency, innovation, sustainability, transferability and acceptance.

This year, the award ceremony will take place on Tuesday, October 25, in Düsseldorf. As in previous years, a top-quality jury will preside over the selection of the award winners:

  • Dr. Miriam Meckel, Chairwoman of the Jury, Chief Editor of WirtschaftsWoche.
  • Dr. Annette Niederfranke, Director of the International Labour Organization (ILO) in Berlin
  • Dr. Raimund Klinkner, CEO of Bundesvereinigung Logistik (BVL) and Honorary Professor of Production Logistics at the Technical University of Berlin, Managing Director of the IMX Institute for Manufacturing Excellence.
  • Hatto Mattes, Ministerial Councilor in the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology, Head of the Department for Product and Plant Safety, International Technical Harmonization, and the Transport of Hazardous Goods.
  • Stefan Kölbl, Chairman of the DEKRA e.V. and DEKRA SE Management Board.

In previous years, winners of the DEKRA Award have included renowned companies, such as Airbus, Eaton Industries, EBM-Papst, EnBW, Voith and Volkswagen.

Application forms and further information available at

Press contact:

Tilman Vögele-Ebering

Press officer Industrial


Fax +49.711.7861-742122

Back to overview